top of page
UnderTheMoonlight_Covers_v3.jpg

UNDER THE MOONLIGHT

Published by Lothian Children's Books, April 2022

A gentle story about showing bravery in the face of your fears that is sure to be a bedtime favourite. Perfect for fans of The Very Cranky Bear and The Gruffalo's Child.

Meet Moose, an enormous, brave and solitary moose, with nothing to fear. Unfortunately for Moose, his tranquil sleep is about to be shattered by a fright in the night.

Follow Moose as he shows great bravery in facing his fears and investigating the source of the night-time fright.

A gentle bedtime story that is sure to be a hit with parents and little readers everywhere.

ASA STYLE FILE ILLUSTRATION AWARD 2019 - WINNER

CREATIVE KIDS TALE WRITING COMPETITION 2020 - WINNER

Mouse_edited.jpg

The text flows along in expressive rhyming couplets and provides much opportunity for a dramatic read-aloud. The story sensitively captures Moose’s feelings of both fear and courage... The pages are a visual delight, soft pastel colours with pops of warmth are used, and Moose and the other forest animals are charmingly rendered. There are also interesting perspectives shown... These clever details add that extra dramatic element that enhances the story.

- Children's Book Council of Australia Reading Time

Crispe's engaging rhyming text rolls off the tongue, while her images are beautifully paced, with variations in perspective, layout and framing that add to the visual interest and provide both dramatic and comedic moments. And the frightened Moose, with his highly expressive body language, is a totally endearing character.

- The Canberra Times

Crispe’s background in zoology shines through with the loveable Moose and his unlikely furry friend who leave prints in the snow while tugging at your heartstrings... The story captures the beauty of change both literally and figuratively. Against the backdrop of transitioning from Autumn to Winter, Moose is also in a transitional period, moving from security and stability to stepping out of his comfort zone and learning to embrace the unknown.

- Better Reading

FREE PRINTABLE ACTIVITIES AND TEACHING RESOURCES

Click the images to the right to download printable PDFs of the Moose Antler Headband or the Moose and Mouse colouring sheet.

Moose Colouring.jpg
Moose Headband (for download).jpg
Moose Headband_edited.jpg

UNDER THE MOONLIGHT-THEMED CRAFT AND PLAY

OK, so please don't look too closely at my pegdoll moose! Why did I think using a hot glue gun to make his face, antlers and legs was a good idea? He's such a mess, but it was a fun challenge to make! Making your own moose antlers or felt Christmas decorations are fantastic classroom activities. I love setting up 'invitation to play' scenes for my kid, and waiting to see what he does with them. What could be better than a scene right out of my own book Under the Moonlight?! Why don't you try re-telling Moose's story with a tub of snow and some mini creatures?

Through an intrigue-filled narrative inspired by a trip to Scandinavia and absolutely delightful watercolour illustrations, this heart-warming new release explores themes of friendship, bravery and facing your fears.

- My Picture Book Heart

The rhyming text is lilting, the paintings skilfully composed and brimming with details to delight young audiences... Susannah Crispe is a sensitive and perspicacious children’s book creator and this one is bound to be the first of many successes.

- Living Arts Canberra

A sweet and gentle rhyming tale... this one is perfect for a bedtime story with a surprise ending and soft illustrations capturing the expressive moose, the snow and the setting.

- One More Page Podcast (Episode 70: Thrills and Spills)

bottom of page